Sushi Craze

20131003_185745

Free Sushi Night!

The University offers free sushi night every once and a while. This is a great way to get a large crowd at the cafeteria. I went around 6:45 p.m. and could not even find a seat! Sushi has become very popular over the past couple of years and I have participated in the sushi craze. I even learned how to make sushi at my old job. I love sushi, my favorite roll is a tie between spicy tuna and salmon avocado and I love tuna sashimi as well. Mmmm I’m hungry thinking about it.

Of course the fish is raw, at first I was not a fan of this but after tasting raw fish I fell in love, well my taste bites did. Sushi is not only tasty but it has a lot of nutrients. Raw fish that is caught and prepared the freshest are the ones to eat. Fitday.com it talks about the different types of raw and their nutrients. If you are skeptical about eating raw fish here’s a blog about some signs to look for to scope out bad sushi. Men’s Health Website also has a few of the most popular rolls that people usually get and includes the calories and nutrients they have. An observation of a couple websites I’ve read now, the roll that are the least amount of calories are of course the vegetable rolls that are about 130 calories. A plain tuna roll is about 180 calories. This is not including the amount of soy sauce or ginger and wasabi added.

Homemade sushi sounds tricky but the truth is it is simple. At my old waitress job, I watched the sushi chefs make sushi masterpieces on a plate in minutes. If work was slow and there were no customers I would ask the chefs to teach me how to make sushi. The fish has to be very fresh and the knife you use has to be very sharp. It is a task they have been practicing for a while but I found a couple tips on how to make homemade sushi from makemysushi.com.

Leave a Reply

